Buddy Miles - Them Changes (1970)

Buddy Miles was an American rock and funk drummer and vocalist, best known for his work with The Electric Flag and Jimi Hendrix's Band of Gypsies.

Buddy Miles' friendship with Jimi Hendrix came to its fruition in late 1969, after he had broken up his band Buddy Miles Express. For three months Miles and bassist Billy Cox joined with Hendrix to form Band Of Gypsies - a live album was released in 1970, and it has come to be seen as among Hendrix's most highly regarded work. The album featured Miles' song "Them Changes", which he sang lead on.
The album Them Changes came out in 1970 shortly after the breakup of Band of Gypsies, and presumably after Hendrix's death the same year. The title track appeared again in a funky horn-driven arrangement, and the rest of the album mostly followed this rock/funk/soul formula. It was Miles' first true solo album released under his own name (his first two had been credited to Buddy Miles Express). Also includes great covers of The Allman Brothers Band's "Dreams", Neil Young's "Down By The River" and Otis Redding's "Your Feeling Is Mine".

Electric Church (1969) <|> We Got To Live Together (1970)
More from Buddy Miles


No comments: