Arlo Guthrie - Last Of The Brooklyn Cowboys (1973)

Arlo Guthrie is an American singer-songwriter, the son of Woody Guthrie.

1973's Last Of The Brooklyn Cowboys was the fourth in Arlo Guthrie's fantastic series of rootsy folk-rock albums. It was even more diverse than its predecessors, opening with the unaccompanied fiddle playing of Irish musician Kevin Burke, and going on to touch on various styles including folk, ragtime, bluegrass, traditional country and gospel. The cover material includes Bob Dylan's "Gates Of Eden", the traditional folk number "Gypsy Davey" and the country standard "Lovesick Blues", as well as Woody Guthrie's "Ramblin' Round" (continuing Arlo's tradition of always including one of his father's songs on each of his albums). The second side of the album also includes some fantastic original songs - "Last Train", "Cooper's Lament" and "Cowboy Song".
As usual, there is some spectacular instrumental backing, courtesy of guitarists Ry Cooder, Clarence White and Jesse Ed Davis, drummer Jim Keltner, bassist Lee Sklar, Gene Parsons and Gib Guilbeau, banjo player Doug Dillard, plus members of Buck Owens' band The Buckaroos (Don Rich, Jerry Brightman, Doyle Kurtsinger, Jim Shaw and Jerry Wiggins).

Hobo's Lullaby (1972) <|> Arlo Guthrie (1974)
More from Arlo Guthrie


No comments: