Little Feat - Feats Don't Fail Me Now (1974)

Little Feat are an American rock band originally formed in 1969 by guitarist Lowell George.

Little Feat's fourth album saw them perfect their fusion of rock, funk and boogie, with their best-known lineup of Lowell George (guitar/vocals), Paul Barrere (guitar/vocals), Bill Payne (keyboards/vocals), Kenny Gradney (bass), Richie Hayward (drums) and Sam Clayton (percussion). Underneath the surface of the great songs and southern-fried vibes of Feats Don't Fail Me Now were some complex rhythms and seriously good musicianship. Whilst on their three previous albums Little Feat had very much been Lowell George's band, this is probably where they truly came together as a union of six musicians. Barrere and Payne both contributed to the songwriting, and the instrumental interplay was perfectly balanced, giving all members room to shine. "The Fan" was notable for its intense jazz-fusion flavoured jam section, whilst elsewhere the opening track "Rock & Roll Doctor" became an instant theme song for Lowell George, and remains today surely the band's most perfect three minutes of groove. The last track on the album was a ten-minute medley of "Cold, Cold, Cold" and "Tripe Face Boogie", two songs originally from Sailin' Shoes, giving the record-buying public an idea of what a Little Feat concert was like, and showing off their improvisational abilities.

Dixie Chicken (1973) <|> The Last Record Album (1975)
More from Little Feat


No comments: