The Lovin' Spoonful - Everything Playing (1967)

The Lovin' Spoonful are an American rock band originally active in the 1960s.

In 1966 The Lovin' Spoonful recorded soundtracks for two films, the first being Woody Allen's What's Up, Tiger Lily?, and the second being Francis Ford Coppola's You're A Big Boy Now. The soundtrack album of the latter was released in 1967, and featured a hit with "Darling Be Home Soon", which charted at #15. 
Following this lead guitarist Zal Yanovsky left the band, and was replaced by Jerry Yester, who had previously been a member of both The New Christy Minstrels and the Modern Folk Quartet. They also had a change of producer, with Joe Wissert taking over from Erik Jacobsen. Their fourth album came out later that year, with an eclectic pop-rock sound notable for orchestral embellishments on some songs. Three songs were released as singles and became minor hits - "Six O'Clock" at #18, "She Is Still A Mystery" at #27 and "Money" at #48. It marked the beginning of a commercial decline for the group, who also suffered from the fallout of a drug bust (Yanovsky had named his supplier, which hurt the band's credentials with their hippie audience).  It turned out to be their last album with frontman and main songwriter John Sebastian, as he left soon afterwards to start a solo career (retrospectively it can be seen that Sebastian was The Lovin' Spoonful, and stepping out of the restrictions of a group format could only have been a good thing).

Hums Of The Lovin' Spoonful (1966) <|> Revelation: Revolution '69 (1969)
More from The Lovin' Spoonful


No comments: