Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen - Country Casanova (1973)

Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen were an American country-rock band.

The third album from Commander Cody and his pals was another collection of good-natured country sounds, mixing honky-tonk, rockabilly, western swing and rock & roll, with the familiar line-up of Billy C. Farlow (lead vocals/harmonica), Bill Kirchen (lead guitar/vocals), John Tichy (rhythm guitar/vocals), Bobby Black (pedal steel/dobro), Andy Stein (fiddle/sax), Bruce Barlow (bass), Lance Dickerson (drums) and Cody himself (piano). Country Casanova featured good original material, and covers including Buddy Holly's "Rave On!" and Tex Williams' 1947 hit "Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette)". Apparently their version of "Everybody's Doin' It" (originally recorded as "Everybody's Truckin" by the Modern Moutaineers) got them banned from several country music stations due to its repeated use of the word 'fucking'. Though they were still far from topping the charts, this album was actually their most succesful yet on the country chart, getting to #47.

Hot Licks, Cold Steel & Truckers' Favorites (1972) <|> Live From Deep In The Heart Of Texas (1974)
More from Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen



KDNYfm said...

Wooo Hooo!!
Everybody's dancin and truckin!!
This is my favorite Commander Cody album!
My wife even once embroidered a shirt for me like the logo on the album cover!
Thanx for sharing this gem!


Anonymous said...

Just found your blog, and love the selections. This was my favorite Commander Cody lp also. Thanks for sharing it!
Chester Proudfoot

tk said...

Any chance this can be re-uploaded?